Key Organizations

Growing Together is not alone in this!
Here are a host of other great organizations that are doing synergistic
and complementary work. We encourage your support of their efforts too!

CSAs & Small Farms (in Western Illinois)
Barefoot Gardens (www.barefootgardens.org) (Macomb)
Country Corner (www.country-corner.com) (Alpha)
Flatlander Meats (Flatlander Facebook) (Vermont, IL)
Great Rivers CSA (www.greatrivercsa.org) (Quincy)
Living Earth Farm (www.livingearthfarm.com) (Farmington)
Robinson Beef (www.robinsonbeef.com) (Cameron)
Sitka Salmon Shares (www.sitkasalmonshares.com) (Sustainable Business Center)
Spurgeon Veggies CSA (www.facebook.com/SpurgeonVeggies) (East Galesburg)
Walnut Acres Family Farm (www.walnut4meat.com) (Walnut)

Farmers’ Markets (in Western Illinois)
Aledo (link)
Carthage (link)
Galesburg (link)
Monmouth (link)
Oneida (link)
Rushville (link)

Urban Farms
City Farm (link) (Chicago)
Earthworks (link) (Detroit, MI)
Gateway Greening (link) (St. Louis)
Greensgrow (link) (Philadelphia, PA)
Green Youth Farm (link) (Chicago)
Growing Power (www.growingpower.org) (Milwaukee & Chicago)
Growing Home (www.growinghomeinc.org) (Chicago)
Half the 40 Acres (link) (Madison, WI)
The Plant (www.plantchicago.com) (Chicago)
Sweet Water Organics (www.sweetwater-organic.com) (Milwaukee)

Seeds
Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds (rareseeds.com) (Petaluma, CA)
Fedco Seeds (www.fedcoseeds.com) (Waterville, Maine)
High Mowing (www.highmowingseeds.com) (Wolcott, Vermont)
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (www.johnnyseeds.com) (Winslow, Maine)
The Natural Gardening Company (www.naturalgardening.com) (Petaluma, CA)
Organic Seed Alliance (www.seedalliance.org) (Port Townsend, Washington)
Seed Saver Exchange (www.seedsavers.org) (Decorah, Iowa)
Territorial Seed Company (www.territorialseed.com) (Cottage Grove, Oregon)
Wild Graden Seed (www.wildgardenseed.com) (Philomath, Oregon)

Conferences & Workshops
Barefoot Gardens’ Organic Vegetable Gardening Workshop  (Mar.-June; Macomb, IL) (link)
Growing Power’s Workshops (Jan.-June; Milwaukee, WI) (link)
Land Institute’s Prairie Festival (Sept.; Salina, Kansas) (link)
MOSES (Feb.) (www.mosesorganic.org) (La Crosse, WI)
Organic Seed Growers Conference (Jan/Feb 2014; Corvallis, Oregon) (link)
Prairie Fire BIONEERS (Oct.; Knox College, Galesburg, IL) (link)
Specialty Crops (Jan.; Springfield, IL) (link)

Media
ACRES USA (link)
Mother Earth News (www.motherearthnews.com)
Nutrition Action (www.cspinet.org/nah)
Organic Gardening (www.organicgardening.com)
Radish (www.radishmagazine.com) (Moline, IL)
Urban Farm (www.urbanfarmonline.com)

Advocacy
Advocates for Urban Agriculture (www.auachicago.org)
Eat Wild (www.eatwild.com)
Farm Direct (www.illinoisfarmdirect.org)
Farmers Market Coalition (farmersmarketcoalition.org)
Illinois Organic Growers Organization (www,illinoisorganicgrowers.org)
Illinois Specialty Growers Association (www.specialtygrowers.org)
Illinois Stewardship Alliance (www.ilstewards.org)
The Land Connection (www.thelandconnection.org)
Little Village Environmental Justice Org. (www.lvejo.org)
The Sustainable Business Center (www.sustainablebusinesscenter.com)

Research
Allison Research and Demonstration Farm (link) (near Macomb)
Angelic Organics Learning Center (link) (Chicago and Caledonia)
The Land Institute (www.landinstitute.org) (Salina, Kansas)
Practical Farmer of Iowa (www.practicalfarmers.org)
Seed Saver Exchange (www.seedsavers.org) (Decorah, Iowa)